Category Archives: Awards

Submit your application for chapter awards!

Now accepting applications for the 2022 ARLIS/NA conference attendance award AND the 2022 student Elmar W. Seibel Scholarship.

The 50th annual ARLIS/NA conference will be held in person April 5-9, 2022 in Chicago. And while the conference is well on its way to getting “back to normal” the same cannot be said for everyone’s travel budgets. Let the New England chapter help defray the costs of attending the conference. To be considered for the $1000 award please see eligibility requirements and complete the application form by February 28th EXTENDED to March 14th and now open to new members as well!

Students of New England! Please consider applying for the Elmar W. Seibel Scholarship. This $500 award is open to students enrolled in New England library and information science programs with an interest in art librarianship, visual resources, or cultural heritage. Additional details can be found here, application deadline is April 29th.

Note: in response to the pandemic, we are expanding the criteria to include those either currently living in New England while enrolled or accepted into an ALA-accredited school of library and information science or those temporarily living elsewhere but currently enrolled or accepted into an accredited LIS program in New England.

We welcome applications from students whose identity, experiences, scholarship, and/or service have prepared them to contribute to diversity, equity, and inclusion in our Chapter and the profession.

Continue reading Submit your application for chapter awards!

Apply now for the Wolfgang Freitag Professional Development Award!

The Chapter is now accepting applications for the Wolfgang Freitag Professional Development Award of $1000 in funding to defray the costs associated with a variety of professional development activities.

To be considered for this award, applicants should submit a proposal via this form that includes:
A detailed account 250-500 words long explaining what the award will help you accomplish and how it will contribute to the field of art librarianship
A statement describing the financial need of the project or initiative, and a budget detailing a total cost breakdown (e.g. travel and lodging expenses, conference registration fees, workshop fees, course tuition, materials costs, details of additional funding from other sources, etc.)

See the Scholarship & Awards section for additional details and qualifications.

Deadline for proposals is July 30, 2021.

2020 Elmar W. Seibel Scholarship Recipient

The Executive Committee of ARLIS/NA New England is pleased to announce that Clara Scholtz is the recipient of this year’s Elmar W. Seibel Scholarship!

Clara is a Master of Library and Information Science student at Simmons University concentrating in Cultural Heritage Informatics, as well as a practicing artist. She is coming to her studies at Simmons with experience working in the Downtown Art Center (DAC) in Los Angeles as an instructor and assisting them with the organization of their collection of artwork and archival materials. She also worked as a gallery guide and attendant for the Dia Art Foundation.

Photograph of Clara Scholtz.
Clara Scholtz

“I intend to work as an art librarian and educator upon completing my MLIS, at a public library, academic library, or museum,” Clara shares. “A goal of mine as an informational professional is to increase access to cultural heritage materials and knowledge for communities of marginalized people, including people with disabilities. I deeply appreciate ARLIS/NA New England Chapter’s support of this goal, thank you.”

Congratulations, Clara!

2020 ARLIS/NA Annual Conference Travel Award Winner

The ARLIS/NA New England Chapter is pleased to announce that Abigail (Abi) Sweeney is the recipient of the chapter’s 2020 ARLIS/NA Annual Conference Travel Award. Abi has been working at the Massachusetts College of Art and Design since 2006, and is currently serving as the vice-moderator of the Art and Design School Library (ADSL) Division of ARLIS/NA.  At the 2020 ARLIS/NA Annual Conference, she will be stepping into her new role as moderator of the division.  During the conference, Abi and the current moderator will be reviewing their progress to date on a comprehensive report of the ADSL Division, to include current and ongoing challenges.  In particular, Abi will be covering her findings on issues related to staffing and professional development. The final report is scheduled to be presented at the 2021 conference in Montreal. 

The ARLIS/NA Annual Conference Travel Award will help defray Abi’s expenses related to attending the 2020 ARLIS/NA Annual Conference in St. Louis, Missouri. We would like to extend our thanks to our chapter’s donors, whose contributions help make this award possible.

Congratulations Abi!

Apply now for the Wolfgang Freitag Professional Development Award!

Are you looking to fund a new project? Or are you doing research related to art librarianship intended for publication or presentation? Or, maybe you have your eye on a conference you would like to attend?…

Apply for the Wolfgang Freitag Professional Development Award for $1000 in award funding to defray the costs associated with a variety of professional development activities.

Apply by Friday, November 8, 2019 by sending application materials to John Schlinke, ARLIS/NA New England Chapter Past-Chair, Applicants will be notified of results by Wednesday, November 20, 2019.

For application details: